Pancakes for CMN Hospitals & Riverdance!

Today I had the opportunity to attend two very fun events! First I made an appearance at the Grand Forks Ihop for National Pancake Day. Ihop gave out free pancakes and collected money for Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals, the national platform of the Miss America Organization. All the money donated stayed locally and went directly to Sanford Children’s Hospital in Fargo, ND. A seven year old patient from Sanford was also at the event with us. He was a sweet boy and it helped us see what we were collecting money and giving out free pancakes for- it was to help children like Jordan.

Miss Grand Forks 2012 Kate WilsonMiss Grand Forks’ Outstanding Teen, Miss Eastern Dakota, and I were put to work right when we got there! Laura and Alyssa helped serve and I was at the front hosting. The manager and the regular hostess helped train me in and I showed customers to their tables and informed them about National Pancake Day and the Children’s Miracle Network. Just about every customer asked about my crown and I was proud to inform them that Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals is the official charity of the Miss America Organization. The staff at Ihop was so friendly and welcoming to all of us, and it was incredibly generous of them to devote their day to collecting money for such a wonderful charity.

My favorite moment of the day was when a little girl came through the door and her eyes lit up when she saw me. She told me I was a beautiful princess and that she was so excited because she had never met a real princess before. When she left, she ran up and gave me a hug! One of my favorite aspects of being Miss Grand Forks has been meeting many of the children in this community.

Next, I had the opportunity to attend Riverdance at the Chester Fritz Auditorium. When I found out Riverdance was coming to Grand Forks I immediately bought tickets and started a countdown in my planner! I was so excited and loved every moment of it. The dancers were so talented and inspiring. My favorite routine included all of the dancers dancing in a line with no music. The stepping alone sounded like music and it was neat to hear all of the steps from their loud shoes. I have admired the dancers from Riverdance and Lord of the Dance since I was a little girl, and they inspire me to continue to work hard on my routines.

Miss Grand Forks 2012 Kate WilsonI joined the Miss America Organization because I wanted to get involved in my community and I wanted to perform a talent that has always been special to me. Today I was reminded why this organization is so special both in its ability to provide service opportunities and in its focus on celebrating young women and their talents. I look forward to meeting more people in the Grand Forks community as Miss Grand Forks and I am so excited to perform my talent of Irish clogging at the upcoming Miss North Dakota Scholarship pageant.

Kate Wilson
Miss Grand Forks 2012

Leave a Reply

